French Open 2022 Important Highlights


On June 5, 2022, Rafael Nadal won the 14th French Open. With this win, his record extended to 22nd Grand Slam title. He became the oldest male champion at Roland Garros.

Table of Contents


  • In the final, Nadal won 6-3, 6-3, 6-0. The victory came 17 years to the day since he won the first French Open in 2005.
  • He won the last 11 games of final.
  • He stands two Slams ahead of old rivals Novak Djokovic and Roger Federer.
  • Nadal is the oldest winner, since a 34-year-old Andre Gimeno won in 1972.

Men’s singles: Rafael Nadal

Women’s singles: Iga Swiatek

Men’s doubles: Marcelo Arevalo/Jean-Julien Rojer

Women’s doubles: Kristina Mladenovic/Caroline Garcia

Mixed doubles: Ena Shibahara/Wesley Koolhof

Rafael Nadal Parera

Rafael Nadal is a Spanish professional tennis player. Association of Tennis Professionals (ATP) has ranked him world no. 4.  Earlier, he was ranked world No. 1 for 209 weeks. He has even finished as year-end No. 1 five times. Till date, he has won 22 Grand Slam men’s singles titles, including a record of 14 French Open titles. He has won 92 ATP singles titles, which also include 36 Masters titles. He won 63 out of 92 ATP singles titles on clay.

The French Open

French Open is also known as Roland-Garros. It is a major tennis tournament, which is held for two weeks at Stade Roland Garros in Paris, France. It starts in late May, every year. This tournament has been named after French aviator Roland Garros. French Open is the premier clay court championship. It is the only Grand Slam tournament that is held on this surface. It is the second tournament of four annual Grand Slam tournaments. Other three tournaments include Australian Open, The US Open and Wimbledon.

The Grand Slam

Grand Slam is an achievement of winning four major championships in one discipline in a calendar year. It is also called as “Calendar-year Grand Slam” or “Calendar Slam”.

Association of Tennis Professionals (ATP)

ATP is the governing body of men’s professional tennis circuits namely ATP Tour, ATP Champions Tour and ATP Challenger Tour. It was created in September 1972 by Donald Dell, Cliff Drysdale and Jack Kramer for protecting the interests of professional tennis players. Drysdale was its first President.